WBOP Service Award recipients celebrated at WBOP Zone AGM held at Tauranga Netball Centre 28 March 2021


Award recipients 2021

Standing Left to Right : Storm Hale, Pam Clayton, Edna Brown, Heather Williamson, Kathleen Farrell WBOP
Service Awards : Seated : Mary Thompson WBOP Life Membership


Storm Hale awarded 2020 WBOP Service Award

‘Storm calls ‘a spade’ a spade.  She will never ask you to do what she wouldn’t do.  Always leads by example.  So inspirational that her gravity pulls up to her high standards’

1988-1996 Whakatane Netball Centre Secretary
1999 Sport BOP Volunteer recognition to Netball
2002 Netball Bay of Plenty Volunteer Award
2003 Life Membership Whakatane Netball Centre
2008 Patron Whakatane Netball Centre
2012 Life Member Edgecumbe Rugby & Sport Club
2017-2019 Recognised for volunteer work in Edgecumbe Flood

Pam Clayton awarded 2021 WBOP Service Award

‘Pam has given so much to netball and in particular umpiring over a number of years.  She is one of those rare volunteers who believes in order to take from the sport you also need to give back.  She is happiest working with umpires, umpire coaches or team coaches of any level.   Her passion is immense, her knowledge is vast and she is willing to be challenged and grow as the sport and umpiring changes to meet new demands’

1993 NZ Umpire Badge
2000-2005 Regional Umpire ASPUNA
2011 Oceania Development squad camp
2012-2013 Oceania Fiji/PNG/Solomon Deve programmes
2015 Sport BOP Service to Sport
2017 Invited to observe & assist with selection of umpires at the Australian Mens champs
2018 PSP NETGO Fiji, PNG, Samoa
2019 Netball NZ Service Award 

Edna Brown awarded 2021 WBOP Service Award

‘Edna’s dedication to the game clearly outlines the important roles she has undertaken throughout her netball volunteer involvement.  Her passion for netball enabled her to move into becoming a specialist Bench Official and Statistician.  In this role Edna worked closely with NNZ, the Zone and the Centre and was actively involved at International, NNZ tournaments and HCNC Premier grade games’

1990-2020 Hamilton City – representative group, executive member, President, Board member and Bench Official and Statistician
2009 Hamilton City Netball Centre Service Award
2013 Netball NZ Service Award
2020 Hamilton City Netball Centre Life Member


Heather Williamson awarded 2020 WBOP Service Award

‘Has not only supported her Tokoroa Netball Centre but her community as well.  She has been a pioneer in Zone netball history at not only Centre level but Zone and National levels who has given so much of her time and still continues at Tokoroa Netball Centre’

2005-Present Patroness Tokoroa Netball Centre
1994 Netball NZ Service Award
1995 Sport Waikato Administrator of the Year
1995 South Waikato District Sports Award – Service to Sport
2002 Justice of the Peace
2002 National Education Service Award
2010 Tokoroa Netball Centre Life Membership Award

Kathleen Farrell awarded 2020 WBOP Service Award

‘Your loyal and dedicated service to Netball has played an integral role in our success.  No job too big or too small, we sincerely appreciate your wonderful years dedicated to volunteering at Centre, Region, Zone & National levels.  The go to person for everything Netball at Hamilton City Netball Centre’
1984 Netball Waikato Union Service Award
1993 Sport Waikato Administrator of the Year
1994-2015Waikato Union/Hamilton City Board member
1998 Netball NZ Service Award
2001 Sport Waikato Service to Sport
1996-2006 President Hamilton City Netball Centre
2014 Civic & Freedom of the City Award Hamilton 

Mary Thompson awarded 2020 Life Membership Award
‘It’s the caring that Mary lovingly gives and the passion she shows toward Netball Rotorua and love of the sport that makes her our precious taonga’

1980-present started Saturday netball in Rotorua
1987 Rotorua Netball Centre Service to Sport
2011 Rotorua Netball Centre Life Membership
2001 Netball BOP Service Award
2008 Sport BOP Service to Sport Award
2008 Netball BOP Life Membership Award
2012 Rotorua District Council Community
Leadership Award Service to Sport
2019 WBOP Service Award
2003 Netball NZ Service Award
2020 Queens Service Award MNZM


lion-110 grassroots-110 trust waikato 110 sport-bop-110 sport-waikato-110 nzct-110 wel-110 gallagher 120x one foundation 110x ahc 110x kukri 110 2e 110x LatslogoBlue 110x LatslogoBlue 110x LatslogoBlue 110x Putauaki Trust 120xWaipa 110x