On Sunday 29 March, the Netball Waikato Bay of Plenty Zone held its 7th Annual General Meeting, in a very historic environment. During this unprecedented period, the Zone held the AGM via video conferencing service. Fifty-eight participants logged onto the AGM, representing 15 Zone Netball Centres, the NWBOP Zone Board and staff, and Netball New Zealand. The AGM welcomed NNZ President, Carole Maddix and NNZ Head of Community Netball, Ruth Stanley.

Dr Bev Edlin, NWBOP Zone Chair led a positive and upbeat AGM, even with the spectre of the COVID-19 hanging over proceedings, and the meeting was also tinged with some sadness at the official recognition of the passing of netball legend Monica Leggat. The positivity was driven by a strong 2019 for the Zone and Netball Centres, with many outstanding achievements, and the Zone securing its first ever financial surplus.

A highlight of the AGM was the awarding of NWBOP Service Awards to three incredible women – Kathleen Farrell, Heather Williamson and Storm Hale. Huge congratulation to you all; just a small token of thanks from the Zone for three life-times service to our sport. With the AGM being on-line, we will organise an in-person opportunity to present Kath, Heather and Storm with their badges and flowers once the lockdown lifts.

Click here to view the 2019 NWBOP Annual Report.

After the AGM closed, all participants stayed on the video conference to talk through a number of issues related to the COVID-19 situation. There was great discussion and information sharing between NNZ, the Zone and Centres, especially around the potential timing of the community netball season, how to trim Centre costs, working on Centre Constitutions and Policies, and how to handle membership fees. Thanks to all for your input into the discussion.

The key mantra of the times for us – resilience, flexibility and adaptability. Be safe, stay in your bubbles, aroha to all your whanau.


lion-110 grassroots-110 trust waikato 110 sport-bop-110 sport-waikato-110 nzct-110 wel-110 gallagher 120x one foundation 110x ahc 110x kukri 110 2e 110x LatslogoBlue 110x LatslogoBlue 110x LatslogoBlue 110x Putauaki Trust 120xWaipa 110x